This is a new addition to my blog and I’m very excited!  Each Sunday, there will be a new post entitled Sharpen Your Sword!with that week’s date (so you can find archived posts).  I’ve named it this because God’s Word is “quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.”  Hebrews 4:12

Following each scripture will be a brief explanation of what I feel that particular verse means.  (Please note, I am not a Biblical scholar, and I am human – I will make mistakes!)  If there is a specific verse you have questions about, feel free to post a comment, and if I don’t know the answer, perhaps another reader will!

Because I really love this verse, we’ll start with it. 

Hebrews 4:12

For the Word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

The Word of God is powerful.  It has the ability to bring kings to their knees.  To comfort the poor and brokenhearted.  To heal the sick.  To point the lost sinner to a Beautiful Savior.  AND, it has the power to defeat the enemy of God and His beloved people.  Revelation tells us that when Jesus returns, a sword will come from His mouth, destroying Satan and his demons.  AMAZING!  All it will take is a WORD from the Lord of Lords to defeat His enemy! 

Not only is the Word of the Lord a powerful weapon, but it also reveals sin in our hearts and lives.  Who hasn’t read the Ten Commandments and felt convicted?  Particularly when we read in the Word how Jesus said that if we look with lust, we have already committed adultery?  Or that hatred is seen by God as murder?  Or, read through Proverbs and see what that reveals about the aroma of your heart!  I know what it does to me!

(There is much more to this verse, certainly!  I encourage you to begin studying the Word and discovering for yourself all the gems God has placed there for us to find!)

Yes, the Word of the Lord is mighty.  And it is a powerful weapon of spiritual warfare available to all believers.  Its there for the taking – pick up your Bible and start reading…and memorizing!  Hide the Word of God in your heart!

