The Oak Ridge Boys have a song in which the chorus states,

You can’t fix it, but He can. Don’t you know there’s healing in His hands. He can take what’s broken, and make it whole again. You can’t fix it, but He can.

For the last few months now, I have been trying to deal with a certain problem on my own and listening to this song this week made me realize why nothing had worked. I had been trying to “fix it.” I have read book after book. I have looked at countless websites. Oh sure, I asked for help in prayer once or twice, but not daily, which is what I should have done. I can’t fix it. But there is no problem too big, no mountain too tall, no giant too fierce, that He can’t overcome. And, I think it’s important for us to remember, Jesus does not need our help. His strength is perfected in our weakness.

 

Are there areas in your life that you are trying to “fix” on your own? Is there something that desperately calls for God’s wisdom, guidance, direction, and healing that for whatever reason, you have refused to give to Him? Lynda Randle sings in a wonderful song, “If He carried the weight of the world upon His shoulders, I know, my brother, that He will carry you.

 

Lay all your burdens down at the foot of the cross and go boldly before the Throne of Grace and ask Jesus to carry them. But don’t try to pick them up again. Listen to Him, one day at a time.

