Many years ago, C.S. Lewis penned the following words:

“But one of the worst results of being a slave and being forced to do things is that when there is no one to force you any more you find you have almost lost the power of forcing yourself.”

This quote comes from Mr. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia Book 3, The Horse and His Boy. As I read this book, (for the first time, I hate to admit) I stopped to jot down this thought from Chapter Nine. I have remembered and pondered it often.

What I have learned is that it applies to all aspects of our lives, from childhood to adulthood. As children, we are forced to do things we don’t really want to do, but when we are grown, often no one is there to give us that extra push. Think of this: in what areas of your life do you need “a little extra force” behind you? Weight loss (like me)? Housekeeping (also like me)? Organization? Or are there more important areas? Prayer? Scripture memory? Bible study and reading? What about witnessing? Other areas abound.

The truth is, we all need a push now and then. A real push is more than encouragement. It is strong, yet gentle. Demanding, yet hopeful. Uncompromising, yet understanding.

In light of that, I issue this challenge: Find someone you know who needs a PUSH! Give it to them, always covered by prayer…And if you are offered a PUSH, accept the challenge for yourself!

